Denard Robinson Named Semifinalist for Davey O'Brien Award

Not that it's a huge shock to anyone, but Denard Robinson has been named to the Davey O'Brien Award semifinalist watch list. The Award is given annually to the nation's most outstanding quarterback. Denard has already been named the Walter Camp player of the week, and Big Ten offensive player of the week twice this season.

Btw, from what we're hearing, Denard is going to be 100% for Penn State this Saturday.

Press release via UM media relations:
Robinson Named Semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award
FORT WORTH, Texas – The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced today (Monday, Oct. 25) that University of Michigan sophomore quarterback Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach HS) is one of 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Dave O’Brien National Quarterback Award. Robinson is joined by Big Ten signal callers Kirk Cousins (Michigan State), Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State) and Ricky Stanzi (Iowa) on the semifinalist list.

Robinson is the fifth Michigan signal caller to be named a semifinalist since the award was established in 1977. The other Wolverines to be selected as a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award are: Chad Henne (2006 semifinalist), John Navarre (2003 semifinalist), Brian Griese (1997 finalist) and two-time finalist Elvis Grbac (1991 and 1992).

Robinson lists second nationally in rushing (156.5 avg.) and total offense (354 avg.) and ranks 16th in pass efficiency with a 159.0 rating. He has started all seven games at quarterback, completing 97-of-143 passes for 1,319 yards and nine touchdowns. Robinson became the second signal caller in Big Ten history to rush for a 1,000 yards in a season. He heads into the Penn State with 1,096 rushing yards on 137 carries and has nine scores.

Robinson has four of the top 10 total offensive performances in Michigan history, including the top three spots on the list (502 yards at Notre Dame, 494 at Indiana and 383 vs. Connecticut).

In addition to his selection as a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award, Robinson was added to the mid-season watch list for the Manning Award. The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, and is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performance in its balloting.

No comments

Post a Comment