David Molk a Finalist for Rimington Trophy

Via UM press release/
Molk Named Finalist for 2010 Rimington Trophy
NEW YORK – University of Michigan senior/junior center David Molk (Lemont, Ill./Lemont Township HS) has been named one of six finalists for the 2010 Rimington Trophy, presented to the nation’s outstanding center. Molk is the second Wolverine to be named a finalist for the award. He joins David Baas, who was a co-recipient of the award in 2004.

The other finalists for the award are Chase Beeler (Stanford), Colin Baxter (Arizona), Mike Brewster (Ohio State), Jake Kirkpatrick (TCU) and Ryan Pugh (Auburn).

He started all 12 games at center for the nation’s sixth most top offense. The Wolverines have racked up a school record 6,011 offensive yards during the regular season (500.9 avg.), surpassing the previous mark of 5,807 yards attained in 2003. The Wolverines had one of the nation’s most balanced offenses, leading the Big Ten in rushing (251.1 avg.) and finishing second in passing (249.8 avg.).

Molk earned All-Big Ten first team honors from the coaches and second-team from the media. He shared the Hugh R. Rader Memorial Award as Michigan’s top offensive lineman. Molk was on the watch list for the Rotary Lombardi Award this fall.

Molk has started 28 career games at center. He earned 2009-10 NSCA All-America Strength and Conditioning Athlete of the Year recipient.

The winner of the 2010 Rimington Trophy will be announced at the ESPNU/Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday (Dec. 9).

No comments

Post a Comment